College-wide Navigational Links | Go to Local Content
Main Content |

UGA Extension

Oglethorpe County:
4-H Youth Development

About Georgia 4-H

Georgia 4-H is a program of the University of Georgia College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences Extension System. 4-H is part of a nationwide Extension network.

Georgia 4-H is all about exploring, discovering, encouraging and challenging. 4-H theme

Georgia 4-H assists youth in acquiring knowledge, developing life skills, and forming attitudes that will enable them to become self-directing, productive and contributing members of society. 4-H'ers learn through hands on learning experiences. These experiences focus on agricultural and environmental issues through awareness, leadership, communication skills, food, nutrition, health, energy, conservation, and citizenship.

Cloverleaf (5th and 6th graders)

School club meetings

  • 5th Grade
    • Thursday, December 17, 2015
    • Thursday, January 11, 2016
    • Thursday, February 18, 2016
    • Thursday, March 17, 2016
    • Thursday, April 14, 2016
  • 6th Grade
    • Friday, December 18, 2015
    • Friday, January 15, 2016
    • Friday, February 12, 2016
    • Friday, March 25, 2015
    • Friday, April 29, 2015

Other Cloverleaf Activities

  • Cooking to Share:
    • Wednesday, December 16, 2015
  • Cloverleaf CPA
    • Wednesday, January 20, 2016
  • Cloverleaf DPA
    • Saturday, February 13, 2016
  •  

Cloverleaf Newsletter

Junior & Senior (7th through 12th grade)

  • Portfolio's Due
    • Friday, January 6, 2016
  • Junior & Senior DPA
    • March 11th - 13th, 2016

Club Meetings at the 4-H Office

Junior/Senior Newsletter

Other Junior/Senior Activites

  • Portfolio Workshops (call 4-H Office to make an apt)

All 4-H'ers

  • Cotton Boll
    • Practice will start back up October 2016)
  • Horse Quiz Bowl
    • Please call the 4-H Office for dates and times
  • Poultry Judging
    • Info coming soon
  • Archery
    • Please call the 4-H Office for dates and times
  • Horse Judging
    • info coming soon

2015 4-H Summer Camps

  • Please check back for 2016 summer camp info

Livestock Exhibitors Information

  • Next 4-H & FFA County Livestock Meeting
    • Tuesday, January 19, 2016 (6:30pm at the Ag Building)

GEORGIA LIVESTOCK 4-H PROGRAM INFORMATION: (SHOWS AND ENTRY FORM INFO)

2014 - 2015 Georgia State Livestock Show

 

State Entry Deadline Show Date
Goat August 1, 2015 October 8 - 11, 2015
Beef October 1, 2015 February 17 - 22, 2016
Dairy November 15, 2015

February 17 - 22, 2016

Hog December 5, 2015 February 17 - 22, 2016

 

County Entry Deadline Show Date
Oglethorpe Co. 4-H & FFA Co. Show August 31, 2015

Friday, September 11, 2015

4-H & FFA Friday, January 29, 2016 Tuesday, February 16, 2016

 

Other Livestock Shows (dates and entry form info)

For more information about any of these activities, please call the 4-H Office at (706) 743-8341.

Georgia 4-H Camps

The University of Georgia 4-H Program has five centers for education located in different areas of the state. Each center offers 4-H Environmental Education.

4-H Center Location
Rock Eagle Eatonton, Georgia
Jekyll Island Jekyll Island, Georgia
Fortson Hampton, Georgia
Wahsega Dahlonega, Georgia
Burton Tybee Island, Georgia

Forms

Georgia 4-H Website

Georgia 4-H Homepage

University of Georgia (UGA) College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences (CAES)