Skip to Main Menu Skip to Content


Seat Belt Safety Winners Announced
The winners were announced May 20 in Forsyth as part of the "Buckle Up America!" awards program.

The state poster winners, whose entries will make up a calendar for 2003, got $100 for first place, $50 for second and $25 for third in each of five categories. The two PSA categories and one essay category each won $50 for first, $35 for second and $25 for third.

State Poster Winners

The poster winners in kindergarten to first grade are Candler Willis, Eagle's Landing Christian Academy, Henry County, first; Sydney Mixon, Northwest Laurens Elementary, Laurens County, second; and Beth Lokey, Lake Park Elementary, Lowndes County, third.

In the second and third grades, the winners are Lindsey Purvis, Heard-Mixon Elementary, Newton County, first; Elizabeth Finger, Northside Elementary, Coweta County, second; and Rachel Pickett, Heard Elementary, Chatham County, third.

The fourth- and fifth-grade winners are Angelica Montealegre, Tippens Elementary, Cherokee County, first; Shanice Gilbert, Burroughs-Molette Elementary, Glynn County, second; and Kaylah Dyal, Fourth District, Appling County, third.

The winners in the sixth through eighth grades are James Kraemer, Five Forks Middle, Gwinnett County, first place; Caitlin Downs, Oglethorpe County Middle, Oglethorpe County, second; and Tonya Ammons, Mt. Zion Middle, Carroll County, third.

The ninth- through 12th-grade winners are Kimberly Warren, Mt. Zion High, Carroll County, first; Shaffer Hardrick, Dooly County High, second; and Sheena Milian, Butler High, Richmond County, third.

PSA, Essay Winners

The PSA winners in kindergarten through sixth grade are Terry Johnson, Jackson Heights Elementary, Dougherty County, first; Justin Miller, Auburn Elementary, Barrow County, second; and Paul James, Jolly Elementary, DeKalb County, third.

In the seventh through 12th grades, the PSA winners are Carletta Gittens, Chamblee Charter High, DeKalb County, first; Chris Fuller, Chamblee Charter High, DeKalb County, second; and Brittany Burns, West Chatham Middle, Chatham County, third.

Essay contest winners are Melissa Waltsman, Lakeside High, first; Tracy Kay Ammons, Mt. Zion High, Carroll County, second; and Natalie Hilliard, Lakeside High, DeKalb County, third.

The UGA Extension Service Occupant Safety Education Program is a grant-funded program dedicated to increasing public awareness about the use of seat belts and child safety seats. The Governor's Office of Highway Safety is a full partner in this program.

Share Story: