51D8 CAES NEWSWIRE | Business class Skip to Main Menu Skip to Content

MEDIA NEWSWIRE

Free UGA class aimed at new home-based business owners By Sharon Dowdy

University of Georgia Cooperative Extension offices and Small Business Development Centers are collaborating to offer workshops across the state to help individuals think through the decision to start a home-based business.

The “Is Starting a Business for You?” classes will be held from August through October in locations across the state. Participants in the 90-minute workshop will learn how to identify frauds and scams billed as business opportunities, to consider space and time needs, and other factors that contribute to success.

There is no fee for the class, but registration is required. Some counties require a refundable deposit. The dates, UGA Extension office counties and UGA Extension agent contact names are as follows:

  • August 12, Laurens County, Susan Moore, (478) 272-2277, susanm@uga.edu
  • August 13, Telfair County, Laura Smith, (229) 868-6489, lauras@uga.edu
  • August 13, Lanier County, Rachel Hubbard, (229) 482-3895, rubynell@uga.edu
  • August 17, Ware County, Heidi Flowers, (912) 287-2456, heidif@uga.edu
  • August 20, Chatham County, Jackie Ogden, (912) 652-7981, jogden@uga.edu
  • August 27, Tift County, Roxie Booker-Price, (229) 391-7980, roxieb@uga.edu
  • September 10, Elbert County, Christa Campbell, (706) 283-2037, christaa@uga.edu
  • September 10, McDuffie County, Caroline Richardson, (706) 595-1815, crich@uga.edu
  • September 11, Lincoln County, Christa Campbell, (706) 359-3233, christaa@uga.edu
  • September 12, Clarke County, Denise Everson, (706) 613-3640, deverson@uga.edu
  • September 19, Dougherty County, Suzanne Williams, (229) 436-7216, suzanwms@uga.edu
  • September 24, Cobb County, Cindee Sweda, (770) 528-4084, csweda@uga.edu
  • September 24, Fulton County, Menia Chester, (404) 332-2400, mchester@uga.edu
  • September 24, DeKalb County, Jessica Hill, (404) 298-4080, jesshill@uga.edu
  • September 26, Colquitt County, Andrea Scarrow, (229) 616-7455, ascarrow@uga.edu
  • September 27, Muscogee County, Rhea Bentley, (706) 653-4200, rbentley@uga.edu
  • September 30, Early County, Wayne Coachman, (229) 723-3072, wcoachma@uga.edu
  • October 2, Burke County, Terri Black (705) 554-2119 tcameron@uga.edu
  • October 14, Appling County, Janet Hollingsworth, (912) 367-8130, jholling@uga.edu
  • October 17, Forsyth County, Michele Melton, (770) 887-2418, msmelton@uga.edu
  • October 22, Candler County, Marnie Dekle, (912) 685-2408, marnie@uga.edu
  • October 23, DeKalb County, Jessica Hill, (404) 298-4080, jesshill@uga.edu
  • October 24, Emanuel County, Marnie Dekle, (912) 685-2408, marnie@uga.edu

For more information on the workshop nearest you, call your local UGA Extension office at 1-800-ASK-UGA1.

(Sharon Dowdy is a news editor with the University of Georgia College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences.)

Money and credit cards
Money and credit cards

U.S. currency and credit cards.

Download Image
U.S. currency and credit cards. Download Image
Share Story:
0