Skip to Main Menu Skip to Content

About the Lecture 

The 2017 D.W. Brooks Lecture and Awards will be held on Tuesday, Nov. 7 at the UGA Hotel and Conference Center at the Georgia Center in Athens, Ga. The lecture will take place in Mahler Auditorium at 3:30 p.m., followed by a reception and awards banquet.

2017 D.W. Brooks Guest Speaker

Nina V. Fedoroff will present the 2017 D.W. Brooks Lecture entitled, "The GMO Wars: What do we do when scientists and citizens deeply disagree?" The talk will be free and open to the public.

Fedoroff received her Ph.D. in Molecular Biology from the Rockefeller University and has served on the faculties of the Carnegie Institution of Washington, the Johns Hopkins University, the Pennsylvania State University, where she was the Director of the Biotechnology Institute and the founding Director of the Huck Institutes of the Life Sciences, and, most recently, the King Abdullah University of Science and Technology (Saudi Arabia), where she was the founding Director of the Center for Desert Agriculture. Fedoroff has published three books and more than 160 papers in scientific journals. She is a member of several academies, including the U.S. National Academy of Sciences and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. Among her awards is a 2006 National Medal of Science, the highest honor awarded to US scientists. She is an Evan Pugh Professor Emerita, Penn State and a member of the External Faculty of the Santa Fe Institute. Fedoroff served as the Science and Technology Adviser to the Secretary of State and to the Administrator of the US Agency for International Development (USAID) from 2007 to 2010. She established and serves as Science Adviser to the Global Knowledge Initiative (, an organization focused on forging collaborations between scientists in developed and developing countries.  She has served as President of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) and as a Trustee of the Library of Alexandria, Egypt.  She is member of the Science Advisory Board of the Santa Fe Institute and serves as Senior Science Advisor to OFW Law, Washington DC.

Guest Speaker: Nina Fedoroff

Extended Campus Viewing Parties

UGA Griffin Campus
Student Learning Center, Room 105
3:00 p.m. Reception; 3:30 p.m. Lecture

UGA Tifton Campus
Tifton Campus Conference Center, Small Auditorium
3:00 p.m. Reception; 3:30 p.m. Lecture

2017 D.W. Brooks Faculty Award Winners

D.W. Brooks Distinguished Professor

Ignacy Misztal, Professor - Animal and Dairy Science

D.W. Brooks Faculty Award for Excellence in Research

Katrien Devos, Professor - Crop and Soil Sciences and Institute of Plant Breeding, Genetics and Genomics

D.W. Brooks Faculty Award for Excellence in Public Service Extension

Wade Parker, Agricultural and Natural Resources Program Development Coordinator – UGA Extension Southeast District

D.W. Brooks Faculty Award for Excellence in Extension

Calvin Perry, Superintendent for UGA C.M. Stripling Irrigation Research Park – UGA Extension

D.W. Brooks Faculty Award for Excellence in Teaching

Maria Navarro, Professor – Agricultural Leadership, Education and Communication

Map and Directions

  • Georgia Center
  • Mahler Auditorium
  • 1197 S. Lumpkin Street
  • Athens, GA 30602