CAES Leadership

Meet the administrators, campus leadership and department heads for the UGA College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences.

Dean and Director

Nick Place CAES Dean and Director
Dean and Directors Office Agricultural Leadership, Education & Communication

Associate and Assistant Deans

Leadership for academics and student affairs, research programs and the UGA Cooperative Extension program.



Josef M. Broder Associate Dean for Academic Affairs
Office of the Associate Dean for Academic Affairs
Douglas Bailey Assistant Dean
Office of the Associate Dean for Academic Affairs


Harshavardhan Thippareddi Associate Dean for Research, John Bekkers Professor in Poultry Science
Office of the Associate Dean for Research Poultry Science
Robert N. Stougaard Assistant Dean for Research
Office of the Associate Dean for Research


Laura Perry Johnson Associate Dean for Extension
Office of the Associate Dean for Extension
Mark A. McCann Assistant Dean for Extension
Office of the Associate Dean for Extension

Assistant Provost and Assistant Dean

Leadership for the campuses at Tifton and Griffin.

Griffin Campus

Jeffrey Dean Assistant Provost & Campus Director
Campus Director's Office - Griffin Plant Pathology

Tifton Campus

Michael D Toews Assistant Dean, Tifton Campus, Professor
Tifton Campus Entomology

Department Heads

Our nine disciplinary departments are responsible for developing the core instruction, research and extension programming.

Agricultural and Applied Economics

Gregory Colson Interim Department Head, Interim CAED Director, Professor
Agricultural & Applied Economics

Ag Leadership, Education and Communication

Jennifer H Waldeck Professor and Department Head
Agricultural Leadership, Education & Communication

Animal and Dairy Science

Francis Fluharty Department Head Academic
Animal & Dairy Science

Crop and Soil Sciences

Jodi Johnson-Maynard Department Head
Crop & Soil Sciences


S. Kris Braman Department Head and Professor

Food Science and Technology

Manpreet Singh Department Head and Professor
Food Science & Technology


Leonardo Lombardini Professor and Head, Department of Horticulture

Plant Pathology

Harald Scherm Professor & Department Head
Plant Pathology

Poultry Science

Todd Applegate Assistant Dean for International Programs; Department Head and R. Harold and Patsy Harrison Chair in Poultry Science
Poultry Science

Unit Heads

Cassie Ann Kiggen Chief Communications Officer
Office of Marketing and Communications (OMC)
Sean Rogers Senior Director, Finance and Administration
CAES Business Office - Athens
Mary Ann Parsons Senior Director of Development
Office of Development and Alumni Relations